search menu icon-carat-right cmu-wordmark

Siegers Named Recipient of 2021 Linda M. Northrop Software Architecture Award

Siegers Named Recipient of 2021 Linda M. Northrop Software Architecture Award

October 11, 2021—The SEI has selected Rolf Siegers of Raytheon Technologies as the recipient of the Linda M. Northrop Software Architecture Award. The award is given to an individual or team that has used software architecture to significantly improve practices, outcomes, or both in an organization or in the software-development community. Siegers will deliver a webcast called “Establishing an Enduring Architecture Practice Across a Global Enterprise” at 1:30 p.m. ET on October 26.

Siegers has been a leader in developing and institutionalizing mature architecture practices for two decades, resulting in an international community of hundreds of skilled architects across Raytheon Technologies. He leads the Raytheon Mission Architecture Program, comprising several company-wide architecture initiatives. These include a standards-based architecture process, used on more than 1,000 engagements, and an accredited Certified Architect Program and a Software Architect Development Program, which have trained more than 1,000 senior architects. His longstanding commitment to the maturation of the architecture discipline has promoted a culture that enables architects to flourish in their work. His work has also supported the evolution of multiple ISO/IEC/IEEE international architecture standards.

Siegers is a Raytheon engineering fellow and certified architect, as well as chair of Raytheon's Corporate Architecture Board. He is also an Open Master Certified Architect and a co-chair of INCOSE’s Architecture Working Group.

“Thank you for this incredible honor,” said Siegers. “I hold Linda Northrop’s contributions to the software engineering community in very high regard, along with the significant efforts of everyone at the SEI. It is the global epicenter of well-researched, well-documented, and well-deployed software architecture practices.”

Register for the free webcast on October 26. For more information on the award, visit our website.