search menu icon-carat-right cmu-wordmark

Documenting Process for CMMC

Andrew Hoover and Katie Stewart, architects of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) 1.0, discuss process documentation, a Level 2 requirement.

Software Engineering Institute




The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) 1.0 for the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) defines specific cybersecurity practices across five levels of maturity while also measuring the degree to which those practices are institutionalized within an organization. The CMMC model draws on maturity processes and cybersecurity best practices from multiple standards, including the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) frameworks and references, as well as input from DIB entities and the Department of Defense. CMMC requires that DIB organizations complete an assessment of all CMMC practices at a particular level and become certified by a CMMC third-party assessment organization. When fully implemented, CMMC will require all DIB companies to achieve certification at one of the five CMMC levels, which includes both technical security practices and maturity processes. In this SEI Podcast, Andrew Hoover and Katie Stewart, architects of the CMMC model, discuss process documentation, a Level 2 requirement.

About the Speaker

Headshot of Andrew Hoover.

Andrew F. Hoover

Andrew Hoover is an SEI alumni employee.

Andrew Hoover is a senior engineer and the team lead of the Resilience Engineering Team in the CERT Division of Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute. In this role, Hoover focuses on cybersecurity architecture, cyber resilience, critical infrastructure protection, and teaches the CERT …

Read more